Thy Word

I want to compose hymns because His words are perfect. I always thought I sucked at memorising bible verses but they spring to mind from the tunes I’ve heard when I’ve needed them most. They’ve given clarity to my feelings, words materialising to describe the momentous joy, gratitude and praises of my heart.

Crazy how after I’ve come to this realization- that music helps me know His word better, I came across a post that featured this verse: “[The ant] prepares her food in the summer, and gathers her provision in the harvest” (Proverbs 6:8). This is my summer project! Combining my love of music, the voice that God has given me, to create something that will help me prepare myself for temptation. Something that will help me know of His love, live a life enjoying His goodness and resist the urge to sin. I didn’t know how I’d find a routine, how to make myself excited to spend time with God. But this is it- and thank the Lord for revealing it to me. No more anxiety about how best to improve myself this summer or how I can use my talents for His glory.
Only by loving You more.

How can a young man keep his way pure? By keeping it according to Thy word. With all my heart I have sought Thee; Do not let me wander from Thy commandments. Thy word I have treasured in my heart, That I may not sin against Thee. Blessed art Thou, O LORD; Teach me Thy statutes. With my lips I have told of All the ordinances of Thy mouth. I have rejoiced in the way of Thy testimonies, As much as in all riches. I will meditate on Thy precepts, And regard Thy ways. I shall delight in Thy statutes; I shall not forget Thy word.

 

Leave a Reply

