St. Teresa of Avila

“I know now how little my strength and small virtue can achieve if You are not always granting me Your grace and helping me not to forsake You…”

“May You be blessed for ever since, although I have forsaken You, You have never so utterly forsaken me as not to raise me up again by continually giving me Your hand. “

“The LORD makes firm the steps of the one who delights in him; though he may stumble, he will not fall, for the LORD upholds him with his hand”.
– Psalm 37:23-24

“How true it is that You suffer those who will not suffer You to be with them! What a good friend you are, Oh my Lord, to comfort and endure them, and wait for them to rise to Your condition, and yet in the meantime to be patient of the state they are in! You take into account, O Lord, the times they loved You, and for one moment of penitence forget all their offenses against You… I cannot see, O my Creator, why the whole world does not strive to draw near to You in this bond of friendship.”

Leave a Reply

