Restraint

I need to stop over-promising. Saying I’ll be there for the birthday song when I end up eating a burrito at twelve instead. Saying I’ll call when I end up being welcomed into a new circle of people with my phone in my bag. Planning on a morning gym session when I’m most likely getting less than five hours of sleep. Initiating a group dinner date when I end up ditching for a trip to Target for command hooks. Texting ‘I’ll see you’ and having to compensate with frozen yoghurt or Jamba juice (because they’d work for me as peace offerings) when I end up meeting someone else. And then there’s me implying that I’ll see you again.

***
With you, my boundaries -without prompting- fall away like crumbling sand. I am losing the wrestle and I don’t want to play. Self control is a joke and I am desperate for transformation.

Proverbs 19:20-27
Listen to advice and accept instruction, so you might grow wise in the future…
Many plans are in a person’s mind, but the Lord’s purpose will succeed…..
If, my Child, you stop listening to discipline, you will wander away from words of knowledge.

One thought on “Restraint

  1. I’m not saying this needed to be said, but I’m ecstatic this moment of realization has dawned upon you. REPENT YOU DECEITFUL, LOQUACIOUS AND MENDACIOUS DEGENERATE 🙂 ❤
    Promises are like babies… They're easy to make but hard to deliver.

Leave a Reply

