You will know the Lord

After a run, I didn’t know where or how to start. How do I close the distance between us, God? I was frustrated because I didn’t know what to do. The bible. Let me turn to the bible.

I put my earphones in, a worship playlist on and flipped through Ezekiel. What should I read? Where will I hear You? I ended up on Hosea, under the section of my childish bible (that my mum gave me when I had just become a teen) titled Israel’s Adultery Rebuked. 

These verses struck me:

She will pursue her lovers but not catch them; she will seek them but not find them… (2:7)
She does not recognize that it is I who gave her the grain, the new wine, and the oil… (2:8)
Therefore, I will take back My grain in its time and My new wine in its season… (2:9)
I will put an end to all her celebrations: her feasts, New Moons, and Sabbaths- all her festivals. (2:11)

Then, under Israel’s Adultery Forgiven:
Therefore, I am going to persuade her, lead her into the wilderness and speak tenderly to her. (2:14)
There I will give her vineyards back to her and make the Valley of Achor into a gateway of hope. There she will respond as she did in the days of her youth, as in the day she came out of the land of Egypt. (2:15)
I will take you to be My wife in faithfulness and you will know the LORD. (2:20)

I have lost sight of Him and consequently lost my joy, my reason. But He has brought me to my knees again to show me love, to give me the answer- the source of eternal peace.

And then the song Oceans by Hillsong came on.

Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders
let me walk upon the waters
wherever you would call me
take me deeper than my feet could ever wonder
and my faith will be made stronger
in the presence of my saviour

So quickly has my thoughts and mood been lifted! Whenever I’d wander back to how I felt just half an hour ago, I couldn’t quite grasp the feeling. A blanket had been thrown over that part of myself. Today, I smiled more brightly. Today I lived for You.

Leave a Reply

