If you want to impress me

teach me something, offer a new perspective, one that opposes mine even. Don’t regurgitate what’s been said a billion times before. Don’t tell me what I want to hear- you’ll have more luck offending me with an opinion you can support. Don’t sound like you’re reciting from a textbook, unless you’re showing me your talent for memorisation. What do you think? Don’t be indifferent. Show me your ambition. Inspire me.

I’ve figured out why I don’t like you as much as I wanted to.

But it’s not only you. People who come up with the most generic, obvious and safe things to say (yet try and make themselves sound smart by doing this) really bore me. At least admit your inability to make any sort of meaningful contribution to the conversation (if even just to yourself).

Leave a Reply

