Possibilities

My feet stuttered. My legs were so tired I couldn’t feel them. Each of my last strides was a thud disconnected from my body, and I knew I reached the finish line only because I watched it happen. My brain sort of hurt, as if my head was being compressed. It was so strange. What is it that makes some people better at sprinting than running long distance and vice versa?

I watched amazed as people slid over poles half a head taller than themselves. Bodies first, then the legs. Like a wave. Will I make it? Each successful jump for me came with a rush of relief. Then I started landing on the pole, leaving me with bruises that remind me they’re there when I sit.

My last sports day and we won. Speechless. Incredible. Couldn’t have gone any better.

I basically spent 3 hours watching Mr. Nobody, craning my head to see the screen with most of my face buried in a pillow. I kept thinking that I’d finally understand it if I waited it out… But I was disappointed. If a movie gets a lot of hype from a friend, expect it to be worse than it’s made out to be. It’s better to start off with little to no expectation. And this applies for many things. I did however, appreciate the idea about parallel universes and the branches of possibilities that come from each moment where choice is involved. These quotes stood out to me:

“As long as you don’t choose, everything remains possible.”
“Every path is the right path. Everything could have been anything else and it would have just as much meaning.”
“In chess, it’s called Zugzwang, when the only viable move is not to move.”

Then he tried to explain the Quantum Theory to me but I think he’s going to have to do that again sometime soon.

And then you go and write something like that and I see how much better you are than I am …. And that’s why it’s not a possibility. I may not know you well but you are a beautiful person. I admire you.

Sometimes when I’m walking alone, I wonder if you’ll pass by in a taxi. Maybe you’ll be looking out from a window as you’re riding the bus, bored and sleepy, when you see me. Maybe you’ll think ‘I think I know her’ and then forget me in an instant, or maybe you’ll think ‘ah yes, I remember’ and wonder how I’m doing and how things could’ve been if you really got to know me. But it’s all wishful thinking.

to remember

Leave a Reply

