Tesla, tea, and death

I need time to learn. I need time to read. I want to watch movies yet I do not want to spend two hours of my time in front of a screen. But I do love reeling after an amazing movie or a book, completely mind-blown and in awe of the power of creation. How thoughts I’ve never had have been shared with me through words, spoken or written, and how beautiful things I’ve never fathomed have been show to me through moving images or skillfully evoked in my mind.

Some things to remember:

After watching The Prestige, my curiosity, admiration and respect for Nikola Tesla has been renewed. I once started a novel about him, called The Invention of Everything Else but I never got to finish it. It’s one of those books that melds together content from history with elements of fantasy. The one thing I do remember is Tesla’s eccentricity, with the whole talking-to-pigeons thing and isolation in his New York hotel room. But I just couldn’t get into it- I guess I just wasn’t interested at the time. The movie has piqued my interest. Although The Prestige is largely fictional, the wisdom (or should I say genius) and quiet confidence of Tesla is definitely conveyed. Apart from Tesla, it’s the kind of movie that you have to watch more than once to appreciate the clever shots, clues and crumbs left by the director. This is what I love about some books and films: you’re able to find something new or surprising each time you go back, depending on different frames of mind and life experiences. People say that about bible verses too- some particular verses may hold a slightly different meaning at a different period of time. 

I did some research on Tesla and apparently he was believed in Eugenics. It reminds me of how my dad called James Watson a misogynist bastard just yesterday, very rightfully pointing out that geniuses do not have to be good people. Darwin shared these elitist beliefs too but nobody really cares considering his revolutionary contribution to Science.

Also, I am never drinking Chai Tea Latte ever again. The aftertaste is slightly medicinal… I think I will stick to my usual coffee fixes. And I can live on persimmon fruits for the rest of my life. I am in love.

My previous post ‘ELEGIAC’ was the culmination of my thoughts on funerals one day as I was walking home from school, imagining a car swerving and smashing into me right then and there. I thought “who would go to my funeral?” as anybody might, and began to think about the reverse: “whose funerals would I go to?” At what point does a person become significant enough to go to their funeral? It’s obvious that it’s expected of family members and friends but would it be weird to go to an old crush’s funeral? What if he/she was only an acquaintance? I talked to a friend about this and made up my mind, though I don’t know the extent to which I’d be practical about it. I don’t know if I’d put my words into action… but hopefully I won’t have to anytime soon.

From Sobe to Sobe to remember

Leave a Reply

