ELEGIAC

If a car ran you over, if you fell off a cliff,
if you drowned on holiday or lost to cancer,
I think I would go to your funeral.
Because you’re my family, I should go and will go
because I love you-
I would feel death in my blood.
Because you’re my best friend, I will go and sing
your favourite songs,
because that’s what you would want.
Because you’re my boyfriend, I will go and send
kisses to catch,
along with my faithful heart.
Although I’ve only spoken to you a handful of times,
I will go and think:
how great it was to see your glimmer.
Although we’ve only smiled at each other
through quiet hallways, I will go.
Because I acknowledged you when you were alive,
it only makes sense that I do when you’re not.
And so I will come.

One thought on “ELEGIAC

  1. Pingback: Tesla, tea, and death | for hazy days

Leave a Reply

