Long and short fingers

Sometimes you get dealt the wrong hand (I’m being punny again). That is, you feel unlucky. A little crimp in time and space directed a destabalising force in your direction, and you (of all people) had to live through the worst case scenario. You scrunched up your nose, closed your eyes and muttered under your breath “not me not me not me”, and yet your name was called. You. Of all people! You massaged your temples and sighed “not today”, but the very thing you wanted to avoid happened to find its way to you that very day, ironically at the right place, at the right time. And there you are, left dumb-founded and incredulous over how chance seems biased and devoted to ruining your life in the most tragic, dramatic way possible (unlucky people tend to be overdramatic). 

I felt extremely unlucky this week but I won’t let that shake my faith. I didn’t do well, I wasn’t as prepared as I should’ve been, and there’s nothing I can do to change that. Yes, I feel disappointed but I did what I could and the only thing left to do now is to move on. Why cause myself more distress by ruminating about the past and dragging it into the future? 

As my grandmother ‘s cute saying goes: there are both long and short fingers. It sounds less weird in Cantonese, but essentially, it illustrates how we can’t be good at everything and that we will fall short of something sooner or later.

Sobe says not to worry. Everyone has their turn with luck (or lackthereof).
xx

Leave a Reply

