The thing about blogging

Even though I use the second person pronoun, I write more for me than for anyone else (sorry). As in, even if nobody read my posts, I’d still post and edit until I was happy with my own writing and the translation of feelings and abstract thoughts,  too big to be contained, into symbols that can be understood on a screen.

However, I’ve come to realize that:

  1. I feel more comfortable sharing my blog with people who already have blogs. It’s a reciprical thing: show me yours, I’ll show you mine. It’s like gaining access to the quieter, pensive, honest, and sometimes hidden part of a person’s character. In this way, it’s easy to fall in love with people just a little bit through reading their minds.
  2. I feel more comfortable sharing my blog with people who don’t know me that well. And I’m trying to figure out why that is… Surely, it should be easier to show my blog to someone closer to me?

I don’t know.

2 thoughts on “The thing about blogging

  1. Lovely post! And don’t be sorry, unless you want to be, about writing for yourself as what you do for others is share what you are sharing with yourself and that is a more authentic way of writing.
    About #2 – It is part of that old wisdom about how it is easier to share with strangers than with friends… perhaps because strangers don’t think they know who we are, so we can be all of us with them, whereas those who are close think they know us and we fear losing them if they see a part of us they may not like. Maybe…?

    • Thank you! 🙂 It’s just seems a little self-centered, that’s all. But you’re right, being less aware of readers and what they think makes it easier to find a true voice.
      Hmm, I guess that could be part of the reason as there’s little to no expectation with people who don’t know me very well. And maybe I’m worried that my blog reveals more about what’s going on in my head than my interactions with real people who I’m friends with, which makes me feel like I’m not being as open as I ‘should’ be with these people I know. Guilty. Also, since I write more or less for myself, I don’t have to tailor topics to certain interests or whatever as I might do when talking to people I know; the posts are just there. I’m just another blogger to the average wordpress-surfer, although to my closer friends, I’m spewing stuff on this blog that normally wouldn’t make their way into a conversation. Cause some things may not be important enough to say out loud? Don’t know if I’m making sense…Hahah thanks for sharing your interesting thoughts! 😀 xx

Leave a Reply

