Scammed and hurt

Fashion Night Out was such a disappointment. I don’t know what happened to the “half work, half play” job description we were offered. The build up and excitement we felt towards the job was so incredibly unnecessary. There were no colourful piles of FREE macaroons alongside plates of snacks and party skewers. There were no beaded bubbles winking at the brim (from Keats’ Ode to Nightingale which I find to be a beautiful phrase) in tall wine glasses waiting to be served on trays to an array of lesser-known Hong Kong celebrities and models. There was no DJ (we were lied to), and lastly, the uniform did not consist of a white T-shirt and jeans. The video they showed us at the interview piqued our interests. Come on, getting paid to have a bit of a party with food, music, and people? Yes pleaase! But we were scammed. I felt kind of betrayed by how the party had actually ended the night before our work days and we were seriously unprepared for what the job entailed.

We arrived in four inch heels with extra makeup in our bags. How embarrassing. We wanted to look the part for what we believed to be quite a high profile event… But we were immediately given a full-black uniform with long sleeves and long trousers. It was hot and ugly. The heels were severely impractical and the leather rubbed my ankle raw. See, wearing heels takes mental strength and I’ve always wondered where my limit would be with respect to pain tolerance. I trotted and shifted on my toes, waiting for someone- anyone, to ask me questions or make use of my presence. I still can’t believe I had given up nine or ten hours of my time to stand behind customers in one section of Lane Crawford, directing them to other sales people and repeatedly arranging hangers on clothing racks to ensure that they were equally spaced.

#pissed #incredulous #childlabour

We spent the last hour (at around 10:00 pm) hiding out in a store room, hoping the sales people wouldn’t find us as we bandaged our feet and complained about the absence of macaroons.
The highlight of the day was the mango banana smoothie I had for my lunch break. Good times.

The thing is, I’d rather have been overwhelmed by customers and asked to walk back and forth from the store room to fetch expensive dresses of different sizes. I’d rather have been swamped with work. Instead, I did absolutely nothing. On the bright side, I am going to get paid, but truth to be told, I would rather have stayed at home and earned nothing.

From Sobe to Sobe to remember. 

Leave a Reply

