Little musings

not my picture just saying.

not my picture just saying.

This is also a place for little musings and thought-doodles.

1. Please get into a comfortable position.
2. Pour yourself a cup of your favourite drink (or whatever’s available).
3. Read if you care to know what sort of things come across my mind. If not, you’re at least sitting comfortably and have something to drink.

So, my first move was to christen this site ‘littlemusings’ but that was taken, along with 99 other web addresses I thought to create. It just goes to show how hard it is to be original when the internet has been around for this long. This led me to think about the many web addresses already taken, wondering how many are ‘left’ before people have no choice but to make up new words or create inappropriately long site addresses. I worry for any potential or future bloggers. If I had struggled to come up with ‘forhazydays’, good luck to them! It’ll be a whole new level of difficulty in another 50 years. But then again, by that time, people would have probably migrated and moved on from this site to another, as people now have done with xanga (where I used to post the most embarrassing tween-angst posts).

It’s kind of like my worry about phone numbers. What if there aren’t enough 8-number combinations for people in one place? Or are the possibilities too great a number for such a worry? Maths is not my thing… Too much cognitive effort (yes, just casually inserting that psychological terminology, thanks to Daniel Kahneman).

And where do web pages go when we die? Are they automatically deleted after a thousand years of existence? Terminated and obsolete after a set amount of time? Or will tumblr pages and other little musings on the internet be found as markers of the people that existed to write them? Just think of the billions of little corners occupied by people in the vast expanse of the internet and the overwhelming, unfathomable accumulation of stuff! Think of all the little planets and their people-shaped imprints in this boundless, infinite space. And think how many of them will be forgotten or remain undiscovered, hidden amongst old things, burried under the new.

I am in awe of technology and I agree with my grandmother. It’s like. Magic. But not. I would be forever grateful if someday someone could explain to me how it all works in a language I can understand. I’m just too lazy to get into computer science and I can live with curiosity.

& Daniel Kahneman is such a cool nerd.
Also, I love the blog name: thedoughwillriseagain (FOOD BLOG. GENIUS! #suave #sosmoothsowitty #wishiwereyou)
OH and school was ok thanks for asking.

Sobe xx

Leave a Reply

